COFFEE HOUSE LIVE at St. Andrew's

Coffee House Live! @ St. Andrew’s

*** Free live music & arts in the heart of West U in a comfortable, intimate family-friendly atmosphere. ***

A community outreach program of St. Andrew’s Contact/Directions.


For all shows, doors open at 7:00pm, and the show starts at 7:30pm (unless otherwise noted). Again, there is never a cover. All are welcome to come enjoy these performances and musical fellowship time. For more information, send email to Pete Owens.

 


Thanks to everyone who has attended and supported our shows in 2016-2017! We’ve enjoyed having y’all. We take a break for the summer, and return for our 2017-2018 season on Aug. 24, 2017 (see details below).


Thursday, August 24, 2017, 7pm

Guy Forsyth & The Hot Nut Riveters!





Guy Forsyth returns to Coffee House Live, this time to present “The Hot Nut Riveters” — Texas’ Original Recession Era String Band. Featuring an all-star cast of ringer musicians playing all-acoustic instruments, The Hot Nut Riveters traffic in a strange and heady homebrew of genres and influences mining the deep, rich veins of American traditional and popular music forms. And, they’re funny 😉

Their debut studio album, “Moustashe Girl”, features 7 voices, countless instruments, and at last count, 5 hilarious commercials. Expect classic American tunes as well as new original material from some of Texas’ finest!

For more information, check out: http://www.facebook.com/hotnutriveters.

**NOTE OF THANKS: This show is supported in part by a grant from the Texas Commission On The Arts
tca_horizontal_blue

No cover charge. Donations welcome: suggested donation $20 (cash or check), helps cover cost of artist, refreshments, facility — but not required.

 



coffeehouse-tile

 

Like “Coffee House Live at St. Andrews” on Facebook

Previous Events

May 11, 2017 – Brave Combo http://www.bravecombo.com.

March 30, 2017 – Terri Hendrix & Lloyd Maines http://www.terrihendrix.com.

February 16, 2017 – Joe Ely http://www.joeely.com (with Jeff Plankenhorn).

November 17, 2016 – Max Baca & Los TexManiacs http://www.facebook.com/texmaniacs.

October 06, 2016 – Dale Watson & His Lone Stars http://www.dalewatson.com.

August 25, 2016 – Radney Foster http://www.radneyfoster.com.

May 14, 2016 – Trout Fishing In America http://www.troutmusic.com, as part of St. Andrew’s annual Picnic In The Park.

May 11, 2016 – David De La Garza, of http://www.lamafia.com

March 31, 2016 – Gurf Morlix http://www.gurfmorlix.com

February 18, 2016 – Amber Digby & Midnight Flyer http://www.amberdigby.com

November 19, 2015 – Jimmy LaFave http://www.jimmylafave.com

October 22, 2015 – Rosie Flores http://www.rosieflores.com

September 24, 2015 – Bill Kirchen & Too Much Fun  http://www.billkirchen.com

June 4, 2015 – Jesse Dayton http://www.jessedayton.com (and comedy from http://www.bobbiggerstaff.com)

March 26, 2015 – Guy Forsyth http://www.guyforsyth.com

Dec. 11, 2014 – The Jones Family Singers  http://www.thejonesfamilysingers.com

Sep. 11, 2014 – David Berkeley, NM singer-songwriter http://www.davidberkeley.com

Jun. 19, 2014 – Ezra Charles, “The Story of Boogie Woogie” http://www.ezracharles.com

Mar. 06, 2014 – Darden Smith, Austin singer-songwriter http://www.dardensmith.com

Oct. 24, 2013 – Texas Johnny Boy, featuring Milton Hopkins http://www.texasjohnnyboy.com


 FAQs – Frequently Asked Questions

Stay tuned for future events, which should be on occasional THURSDAY evenings. “Like” us on Facebook @ Coffee House Live @ St. Andrews. Typically, doors open at 7:00pm. Entertainment @ 7:30pm sharp!  No cover charge (donations welcome). Open to the public/everyone.

HOW DOES IT WORK?

You remember the date of our next event, and you just come!  It’s that simple.  No advance tickets are required (or available).  There is no cover charge…ever! Just come on out and join us.  (donations are welcome)

WHERE / PARKING

St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church — in the Warren Family Center.
5308 Buffalo Speedway @ Bissonnet.
(see map for parking behind the church, off of Buffalo Speedway on Rutgers St.) 
If our lots are full, overflow parking is usually available directly across Bissonnet in the ABC-13 KTRK-TV parking lot (for most events)

 

MORE DETAILS

“Coffee House LIVE!” is a community outreach effort of St. Andrew’s.  Everyone is welcome!

Several times throughout the year, we will “open” the coffee house for an evening to present live entertainment — primarily various kinds of eclectic music from bands and/or solo artists, as well as perhaps other forms of entertainment, such as poetry, comedy, etc. We intend to host a variety of local, regional, national, and international artists.  Although this is a church outreach effort, all entertainment is completely secular (not religious-based).

We serve coffee and snacks.  You are also welcome to bring your own food & (non-alcoholic) drink, if desired.

The Warren Family Center (within St. Andrew’s) is warmly intimate and acoustically balanced, allowing artists to connect with you — the audience — and showcase their talent. Tables and chairs are plentiful, and there is not a bad seat/view in the room.

There is never a cover charge to enter. However, donations (to help offset costs of artists and refreshments) are welcomed. These events are expected to last no longer than 90 minutes or so, providing you an “early evening” distraction.  All ages are welcome, including well behaved kids (and adults).  Children are to be accompanied by an adult.  Please supervise your kiddos, and keep in mind that this is a “listener-focused” room.

At these events, you will also have an opportunity to learn more about St. Andrew’s, if you so desire.

Seating is 1st come / 1st served, with doors opening 30 minutes prior to the show.

WHAT SETS US APART

alternative listening venue (family friendly)
intimate concert experience
artists connect with the audience
artist meet n greet possible
casual, relaxed, and no $ required

OTHER “RULES” AND REQUESTS

We expect that, for most shows, you may photograph and/or record in a limited fashion, as long as it is not disruptive to the patrons or talent.  Some artists MAY impose restrictions on recording/photography — these details will be posted for each show accordingly.

MORE ABOUT ST. ANDREW’S

St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church is a place where all kinds of people come together for a common journey – a journey of seeking, discovering, knowing and sharing God’s love in Jesus Christ. No matter where you are in your own journey with God, even if one hasn’t yet begun for you, we would be privileged to walk with you along the way.  More about our beliefs…

COFFEE HOUSE QUESTIONS OR INQUIRIES?

Email Pete Owens.

 coffee house square